The initial name, The South Australian Craniofacial Unit was agreed to by the Department of Health and formed in 1975.


Renamed the Australian Craniofacial Unit on becoming a National Centre of Excellence in 1988, to ensure the name was protected for the future, it was registered by ACMFF in 2001 and it was agreed to by the Department of Health.


It was implemented to describe the cross-institutional centre of excellence based upon the six principles of collaboration established by Professor David


Since 2001, Craniofacial Australia has been the custodian of the name, and allows its use by hospitals in South Australia who demonstrate the levels of excellence that were established over the past 50 years.


Craniofacial Australia is proud of their custodianship of this name for the people of Australia, and the quality of care that it represents.

Contact Us

Telephone:          +61 (08) 8267 4128


Opening Hours     M-F 9 am - 4 pm



226 Melbourne Street

North Adelaide SA 5006

PO Box 1138

North Adelaide SA 5006

Connect with Us

  • Facebook
  • @Cranioaus
  • @CranioFacialFDN

Subscribe to our Newsletter

ABN 29 008 155 780   |   ACN 008 155 780