Craniofacial Australia

Phone:  8267 4128

Craniofacial Australia

“Craniofacial Australia is the supporting charity for the internationally acclaimed Australian Craniofacial Unit (ACFU) based at the Women’s and Children’s Hospital in South Australia.”

June Newsletter

Professor David named 2018 South Australian of the year

We are proud to advise that the winner of the 2018 South Australian of the Year

Professor David David

Those words transformed Professor David’s life within minutes. The man that many of us have known as the face of Craniofacial Australia was now going to be the face of our hopes here in South Australia, as a finalist for Australian of the Year.

The Awards honour an exceptional group of highly respected Australians who ignite discussion and change on issues of national importance.
The prestigious year round program culminates in the announcement of the national award recipients in Canberra on Australia Day Eve.

Congratulations Professor David on winning
2018 South Australian of the Year.

Pictured with His Excellency, the Honourable Hieu Van Lee AC, and Professor David David, winner of the 2018 South Australian of the Year Award.

Our Founder 

In 1975 Professor David David set up the South Australian Craniofacial Unit, which later became the Australian Craniofacial Unit.

In the four  decades since then he, with the help of his team of dedicated professionals, has helped restore dignity to thousands of patients. In his hands, complex surgical procedures seem commonplace and he does indeed perform "everyday miracles".

In recognition of his work he received the Companion of the Order of Australia in 1988 and in 1990 South Australia honoured him by naming him the South Australian of the Decade.

As founder of the Australian Craniofacial Unit he encourages and supports the development and provision of patient diagnostic and treatment services that are appropriate to people suffering from craniofacial deformities and injuries.

As President of the Australian Craniofacial Maxillo-Facial Foundation (Craniofacial Australia) the aim is to promote the Unit's international role, to commission and promote research directed at improved patient outcomes, to develop and implement training and teaching courses worldwide and to manage the Unit's overseas programs. It also encourages and supports associated research and teaching activities and associated health systems development.

In 2008 David David was awarded an Honorary Fellowship of the Royal College of Suregons Thailand for his contribution to the health system in Thailand.

Our Board

  1. Professor David David
    Professor David David
  2. Mr David McLeod
    Mr David McLeod
  3. Dr Walter Flapper
    Dr Walter Flapper

      Professor David David AC                        Mr David McLeod                               Mr Walter Flapper                   
                  President                                                Member                                                 Member                                               
 MD (Adel.), FRCS (Edin.) FRCS                RFD, LLM (Pub. & Int.)                       BHB, MBChB, FRACS                           
​ FRACS, FRCST (Hon.)                                 (Melb.), LLB (Adel)                             (Plastic & Reconstructive Surg.)       
                                                                                                                                       MA Surg. (Craniofacial)                     

  1. Yvette Winter
    Yvette Winter
  2. Mr Nicolas Pyne
    Mr Nicolas Pyne
  3. Ms Claire Milne
    Ms Claire Milne

         Ms Yvette Winter                                   Mr Nicholas Pyne                                    Ms Claire Milne  
                   Member                                               Member                                                Treasurer 
       Ass Dip Hlth Admin,                           BA (Hons), MBA, B. App.                            BComm.(Acc.),                     Bus, B Ed, LLB, MCCJ,                          Finance                                                          Grad. Dip. CA